(8/10) Hard stuff, again from Gothenburg. It is not only In Flames who worked on a new album. Also The Haunted released a new disc with the title "Exit wounds".

The five piece band has already a longer history since they released their first album in 1998. Than the year 2012 came and the band had to face some fundamental changes. Singer Peter Dolving left the band (again) as well as guitarist Anders Björler and drummer Per Möller. This had a big impact on the rest of the gang. All of a sudden it was only Jonas Björler and Patrik Jensen who have been The Haunted. Maybe that's not totally correct. It was the two guys AND their willpower to continue with the band. Without this willpower "Exit wounds" wouldn't have become real. They completed the line up again by adding Adrain Erlandsson (d), Marco Aro (v) and Ola Englund (g). After having heard all this you can imagine that "Exit wounds" is more than just a title. It reflects pretty well the last two years of the band too.

The first vital signs of the quintet happened in January 2014 when they relesed the "Eye of the storm" single followed by the live show on the 70.000 Tons Of Metal cruise.

And now the new record is out in the shops. From a musical standpoint the new disc is a step back into the earlier days. Jensen himself describes the album as mix of "The haunted made me do it" and "Revolver" and I think he is right. One component which underlines this is the fact that ealier band member and singer Marco Aro is back. He does a great job on the album.

"Exit wounds" is much more straight forward than the more melodic and sphereful "Unseen". Not that the predecessor was bad, but the new album hits you right into your face. All 14 songs are right to the point and real thrash metal highlights.

My fave on the album is the grooving "Trend killer". Starting with an echosounder the song continues with  Aro's vocals supported by a very strong bassline. The rest of the track is a real trend killer. It is oldschool metal which sounds awesome. A small sidenote: it's Testament's Chuck Billy who is supporting with a guest appearence on "Trend killer". As a contra point there is "All I have" which is less fast than some other tunes on the album and reminds in the beginning to Crowbar and Down. It's the slow and immensly heavy riff which caracterize this track. But also the fast opener "Cutting teeth" doesn't take any prisoners. It's a right to the point thrash metal anthems with an excellent guitar line. You want to have it short and mean? Check out "My enemy". It's a one minute rage that is breath-taking.

The artwork of the album is standing out too. It a great cover done by Andreas Pettersson who did already the first four records of The Haunted as well.

The Haunted fans will not be disappointed by the new album. It brings you back to the earlier days of the band and I really like the album.





  1. 317
  2. Cutting teeth
  3. My salvation
  4. Psychonaut
  5. Eye of the storm
  6. Trend killer
  7. Time (will not heal)
  8. All I have
  9. Temptation
  10. My enemy
  11. Kill the light
  12. This war
  13. Infiltrator
  14. Ghost in the machine


Label: Century Media

Genre: Thrash Metal

CD review THE HAUNTED "Exit wounds"
Tag(s) : #The Haunted, #Thrash Metal, #Death Metal, #CD Review, #News, #Testament, #In Flames, #At The Gates