(9/10) One thing already from the beginning. This is one of the best death metal records I have heard from the Florida-based band so far. What you might know from some of my other reviews, I like death metal when it's not high speed. For me a too high pace works against the heaviness in the music.

The death groove monster "Inked in blood" from Obituary is exactly delivering what I like so much. The album comes with twelve songs; most of them in mid-pace. Excellent.

The opener "Centuries of lies" is the start of this death metal hurricane that spins you around for more the 45 minutes and leaves you with a mouth wide open. "Violent by nature" follows the fast opener. It's a brutal riff that builds the base for this mid tempo song. It get's even slower with "Pain insight". A typical Obituary groove monster. It's a mean death metal masterpiece.

Time to increase speed again? Indeed. "Vision in my head" lives up to this expectation. The beginning is great. First it's the great riff and than the "Uuuhhh" growl from John Tardy that could have been from Tom Warrior too.

Obituary put together a mighty death metal package. Tracks like "Inked in blood", "Within a dying breed" and "Paralyzed by fear" steamrolls everything standing in it's way. And songs like "Minds of the world" can cause severe neck problems due to intense headbanging.

The only thing I don't really like is the controversal cover of the album. I think that Obituary had already better ones like from "Cause of death" and "The end complete". But however, it is the music that counts.

"Inked in blood" is for me a true highlight this year and an album which will have many extra rounds on my record player. Highly recommend.





  1. Centuries of lies
  2. Violent by nature
  3. Pain inside
  4. Vision in my head
  5. Back to top
  6. Violence
  7. Inked in blood
  8. Deny you
  9. Within a dying breed
  10. Minds of the world
  11. Out of blood
  12. Paralyzed with fear


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Death Metal

CD review OBITUARY "Inked in blood"
Tag(s) : #Obituary, #Death Metal, #Heavy Metal, #Thrash Metal, #CD Review, #News