(8/10) Twenty years ago a few guys from Anchorage, Alaska started a band and named it 36 Crazyfists - as the Jackie Chan movie "The 36 crazy fists".

Their musical inspiration came from thrash metal bands like Metallica, but also groups like the mighty Deftones triggered some sound ideas. 36 Crazyfists combined all this to their own style which reflects the mentioned bands together with a big spoonful of hardcore.

The guys released in the twenty years six records and the seventh longplayer turns around the corner in a few days. "Time and trauma" is the name of the new disc, that is the first one after a 5 years waiting time.

The tracklist contains twelve songs which are all highly energetic. They catch your attention immediately. 

The start into the album is called "Vanish" - a riff-based angry song with a quite melodic approach. This might sound like a contractiction, but it isn't. The tune is well down. Down-tuned guitars open "11.24.11." combined with metalcore parts that go over into Deftone-like moments.

"Lightless" is the shortest track on the album. It's a faster one with a certain catchiness before the mighty riff from "Time and trauma" takes over. The title track is in moderate speed with a heavy guitar sound that belongs somewhere into the intersection of post-rock and post-hardcore.

A cool groover is "Silencer" which everything but not silent. It's in my point of view even the hardest track on the album and belongs to the highlights on "Time and trauma". I like esp. the guitar sound that reminded me to Tool. 

"Swing the noose" is a melodic rocker and is probabaly the most commercial track on the album. But don't get me wrong; we are still talking about 36 Crazyfists and the song isn't a soft one.

The last song is slightly different since it is an semi-acosutic one. Singer Brock Lindsow shares the vocals with a female singer (What's here name?) which shows a new side of the band. The chorus is really rocking while the verse is kept more fragile. Both together makes the song to a real anthem that rounds off an album that is stronger than I have expected. 

36 Crazyfists' new album is as cool as Alaska. Another fresh breeze is coming southwards. Check it out.





  1. Vanish
  2. 11.24.11
  3. Sorrow sings
  4. Lightless
  5. Time and trauma
  6. Also am I
  7. Translator
  8. Silencer
  9. Silvers
  10. Swing the noose
  11. Gathering bones
  12. Marrow


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Post Hardcore

CD review 36 CRAZYFISTS "Time and trauma"
Tag(s) : #36 Crazyfists, #Hardcore, #Nu Metal, #Crossover, #Heavy Metal, #Thrash Metal, #CD Review, #News