(7/10) "The seventh life path" is the seventh album from Norwegian Sirenia. The band that was founded by ex-Tristania member Morten Veland releases symphonic metal records since 2001. Sirenia continuous also one this new record with the interplay of operesque female vocals and deep growls. The old pattern of good and bad comes back in their songs, which fits well with the lyrics. Love, suffering and pain are typical human feelings, that build the base for the Sirenia songs. It seems like everything remains unaffected at Sirenia.

The new record comes with eleven songs. Except the opener "Seti" each of them is epically long. Bombastic metal tracks between five minutes and eight minutes gives you quite some value for money. But it's more than only the quantity. The quality is OK as well. 

Even though I have to admit that I'm not the biggest fan of high pitch female vocals "The seventh life path" has something that is attractive and charming. Tunes like the intensive "Serpent", the mystic "Sons of the North" and the heavy riff-based "Insania" have something that is impressive. And also "Concealed disdain" with the deep growls and the almost fragile female parts from Spanish singer Pilar Giménez Gracía, better known as Ailyn, is a treat for the ears.

It goes without saying that the production is well done. The sound on "The seventh life path" is divers and dense. The longplayer has a powerful expression and the used bombastic elements are well intergrated.

All in all I must say that the seventh record of Sirenia fits seamless into their discography and fans of the band well love it





  1. Seti
  2. Serpent
  3. Once my light
  4. Elixir
  5. Sons of the North
  6. Earendel
  7. Concealed disdain
  8. Insania
  9. Contemptuous quitus
  10. The silver eye
  11. Tragedienne


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Symphonic Metal

CD review SIRENIA "The seventh life path"
Tag(s) : #Sirenia, #Symphonic Metal, #Heavy Metal, #Power Metal, #Female Fronted Metal, #News, #CD Review, #Tristania