(9/10) The Dead Daisies - a name we have to keep in mind. The band has released their debut in 2013 and now it's time for the second strike. After having been the support for Kiss and Def Leapprd on their US tour the guys got now the support slot for Kiss' European tour too. And timing couldn't be better since the band has the new record ready to be released. "Revolución" is the title of the disc that will be published end of May.

The names behind The Dead Daisies are well-known ones. "Revolución" was recorded by Marco Mendoza (Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake), Dizzy Reed (Guns'n'Roses) David Lowy, Richard Fortus (Guns'n'Roses) and singer Jihn Corabi (Mötley Crüe). The drums on the album have been done by Jackie Barnes and all these guys together recorded an album that grooves from the first to the last tone.

Hardrock mixed with a bigger portion of blues and classic rock. Those dudes blow again live into the famous rock of the 70's and 80's. There are a lot of cross-references to those days of rock, but all with a modern touch and a crystal clear sound.

I think what added something extra to the vibe of the album is the fact that the recording took place in Cuba; with Ben Grosse as producer. I must say that this album sounds like fun and sun. It's good time rock'n'roll with a high standard.

Sometimes Whitesnake breaks through, esp. with "Looking for the one", but the best three songs are placed in the middle. "Empty heart" catches you and doesn't let loose again. The hook is an irresistable one, the groove makes you move and the chorus is catchy, but not sweet. An 'empty heart' never sounded that good.

The following "Make the best of it" easily keeps the high level of "Empty heart". A bluesy riff is the base for the track that is enriched by Corabi's vocals and some hammond organ parts.

The cool triple of highlights in the middle of "Revolución" is rounded off by the ballad "Something I said". Hardrock meets blues meets a bit of soul. The outcome is a balled that is a real highlight instead of a quiet song drowning in cliches.

Those are just a few songs. I like those a bit more than the others, but also the rest of "Revolutión" is far above average - real hardrock pearls. 

This album is one of the best ones I have heard this year. Together with Kiss a great touring package for this summer and also a challenger for the rock dinosaurs.

Let's rock...





  1. Mexico
  2. Evil
  3. Looking for the one
  4. Empty heart
  5. Make the best of it
  6. Something I said
  7. Get up, get ready
  8. With you and I
  9. Steep
  10. My time
  11. Midnight Moses
  12. Devil out of time
  13. Critical


Label: Spitefire Music

Genre: Hardrock



CD review THE DEAD DAISIES "Revolución"
Tag(s) : #The Dead Dassies, #Whitesnake, #Gun'n'Roses, #Rock, #Classic Rock, #Hardrock, #Blues, #News, #CD Review