(9/10) It was in 1988 when Kai Hansen, founding member of Helloween, decided to leave the band. After having had an enormous success with records like the two 'Keeper albums" Hansen founded a new band under his own name with the aim to name it Gamma Ray from then on. The split with Helloween was a big shock and I can remember me and my friends wondering, if Hansen's new band could come close to those metal pearls, released by the pumpkins fanatics.

Time will tell and time told. Gamma Ray belongs in the meantime to one of the most important European power metal bands with fans all over the planet. In 25 years Hansen and band mates released several longplayers; all of high standard and very successful. There was no dip in the discography of Gamma Ray and by constantly developing further the band gained more and more fans.

Having now their 25th anniversary, Gamma Ray decided to re-release an anniversary version of their records. The start is, what a surprise, the debut. "Heading for tomorrow" came into the record shops on February 21st, 1990. The anniversary edition, that is now available, comes in a two CD package. CD 1 contains all the original tracks; all re-mastered. I don't think that I have to go deeper into each of the tunes since I'm very sure that you know metal anthems like "Heaven can wait", Space eater" and "Heading for tomorrow" very well. What's also on disc number one are the B-side tracks such as "Lonesome stranger". 

The second CD is the cherry on the cake. It's demo tracks, some live recordings and instrumental versions that enriches this fantastic album. And with the karaoke versions of "Heading for tomorrow" and "Space eater" you can add some more fun to your next metal party.

This anniversary edition is an excellent re-release and a great gift for the fans. This is German power metal with an historical value. Keep on rocking Gamma Ray...





CD 1:

  1. Welcome
  2. Lust for life
  3. Heaven can wait
  4. Space eater
  5. Money
  6. The silence
  7. Hold your ground
  8. Free time
  9. Heading for tomorrow
  10. Look at yourself
  11. Mr. Outlaw
  12. Sail on
  13. Lonesome stranger

CD 2:

  1. Who do you think you are
  2. Heaven can wait (Demo)
  3. Money (Demo - Kai on vocals)
  4. Sail on (Demo - Kai on vocals)
  5. Heading for tomorrow (Live)
  6. Space eater (Live)
  7. The silence (Demo - Kai on vocals)
  8. Mr. Outlaw (Instrumental)
  9. Heaven can wait (Demo - Kai on vocals)
  10. Heading for tomorrow (Karaoke version)
  11. Space Eater (Karaoke Version)
  12. Lonesome stranger (Demo)


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: July 24th, 2015

CD review GAMMA RAY "Heading for tomorrow" (Anniversary Edition)