(8/10) It wasn't too long ago that Wolfheart, the band of mastermind Tuomas Saukkonen, released the debut album "Winterborn" via Spinefarm Records. This was actually a kind of re-release since the disc was self-financed and self-released already in 2013. 

But since signing with Spinefarm Records, Wolfheart gets far more attention; something that led to the second full-legth album called "Shadow world". From a musical aspect the new album seamless continues where "Winterborn" ended.

Long and dark death metal rooted songs are the base for Wolfheart's sound. The new aspect is the fact that "Shadow world" was done in a teamwork approach. Lead guitarist Mika Lammassari added creative ideas and the entire band was part of the songwriting process. 

I think you can hear this new way of working back in the songs. Of course they sound still like Wolfheart and Saukkonen's impact wasn't that little. But there are some new nuances in Wolfheart's sound that makes ""Shadow world" to an entertaining piece of music.

The new Wolfheart releases a melancholic trip that will wow fans of dark Finnish metal. And it has the potential to bring Wolfheart closer to a bigger group of metalheads.





  1. Aeon of cold
  2. Zero gravity
  3. Storm centre
  4. Last of all winters
  5. Nemesis
  6. Abyss
  7. Resistance
  8. Veri


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: August 21st, 2015

CD review WOLFHEART "Shadow world"
Tag(s) : #Wolhheart, #Dark Metal, #Black Metal, #Death Metal, #Thrash Metal, #Heavy Metal, #News, #CD Review