(8/10) Finland is a country that brought quite some successful bands up to surface. But also the underground is alive in the country of the thousand lakes.

Crimson Day is a new band. It might be the case that you haven't heard about the five guys from Tampere so far. Crimson Day release a self-titled EP in 2013. This was a self release before the five-piece got the chance to publish their first longplayer via Iron Shield Records.

If you're a fan of pure heavy metal you should give this disc a chance. Valtteri Heiskanen (v), Ari Balzar (g), Jesse Liukkonen (g), Jesse Kämäräinen (b) and Tuomas Lesonen (d) wrote and recorded eleven tracks that are full of hammering riffs, shredding solos, twin guitars and a rhythm section that keeps on pushing. The results sounds like a mixture of Helloween and Gamma Ray, esp. since singer Heiskanen sounds almost like Hamburgs metal master Kai Hansen.

But Crimson Day are more than just a copycat of those bands. They sound young, fresh and unbound. The tunes are hard by still having a great sense for melodies. They are well crafted and the sound of the album fits perfect.

Tracks like "Stormborn", the pounding "Sandstalker" and the seven minutes long closer "The Gathering" are excellent metal tracks that you shouldn't miss.

"Order of the Shadows" proves that there is still a lot of good stuff coming from the underground. Horns up.





  1. Enter the Order
  2. Stormborn
  3. And Then Came Death
  4. Sandstalker
  5. Order of the Shadows
  6. Lies About Paradise
  7. Far From Serenity
  8. Burning Redemption
  9. Fatal Destination
  10. Blessed be Thy Hate
  11. The Gathering


Label: Iron Shiled Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: October 16th, 2015

CD review CRIMSON DAY "Order of the Shadows"
Tag(s) : #Crimson Day, #Heavy Metal, #Power Metal, #NWoBHM, #US Metal, #News, #CD Review