(8/10) There is a lot trouble and defiency out there in the world that delivers enough topics for lyrics for a new Killing Joke album. So it's not a surprise that the legendary post-punk band was in the studio again and worked on their sixteenth longplayer called "Pylon" that is out now.

"Pylon" didn't get a very optimistic album. It is kept dark and painful. But that's how the world is, at least partly and those vibes are coming back in each of the ten new songs that are on the new record.

The good thing with the band is that you get what you expect. Killing Joke didn't change their sound and there is also no reason for it either. It's more the details that change. Jaz Coleman and band mates allow their songs on the new longplayer to be a bit longer again. Most of them are between the five and the six minutes in length. Having numbers with such a length and combining them with the bands typical electronic/industrial sounds leads to a certain hypnotic monotony that fits perfect to the wished expression. A good example is "New Jerusalem" that comes slowly and repetitive round the corner. But this doesn't mean at all that the song or the album gets boring. Killing Joke manages since decades to include a tension in their music that give you an exciting time till the last tune fades away.

And even though the new disc might be a bit more electronic again there is enough soace for harsh industrial songs like the riff rocker "Autonomous Zone", "Dawn of the Hive" and "Delete" that feels like a sonic electro shock. On the other hand there is with "Big Buzz" a new wave-based track on "Pylon" that brings back the "Love Like Blood" times. All in all a good balance of sounds.

The four piece from London releases with "Pylon" their third album after reuniting in the original line-up. The result is another terrific album from a band that never gets outdated.





  1. Autonomous Zone
  2. Dawn of the Hives
  3. New Cold War
  4. Euphoria
  5. New Jerusalem
  6. War on Freedom
  7. Big Buzz
  8. Delete
  9. I Am The Virus
  10. Into the Unknown


Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Post-Punk/Industrial

Release Date EU: October 23rd, 2015

CD review KILLING JOKE "Pylon"
Tag(s) : #Killing Joke, #Industrial, #Electronic, #Alternative Metal, #Rock, #News, #CD Review