(7/10) Welcome to the next sonic inferno of Detroit's death masters of The Black Dahlia Murder. Two years after "Everblack" the five-piece released their next longplayer called "Abysmal". Their melodic death metal is inspired by the old "Swedish death metal school"; a sound The Black Dahlia Murder developed further by adding more and more own identity to it.

Songs you shouldn't miss on "Abysmal" are "Vlad, Son of the Dragon" with a well done interaction of sceams and growls. The ultrafast title track is another tune I can recommend since it spreads an enormous amount of power. "The Fog" is a bit more complex and didn't work for my the first time I heard it. I needed several rounds in the CD player to find the details of this track that grows over time. It's especially the melodic solo part which adds something to this number. The melodies are also coming back in "The Advent" - a song I wouldn't use during Christmas time with your family. It's an uncompromissing metal blast even though it has some more melodic vocallines and a 'catchy' solo part. However, in the end it's another sonic assault like we expect it from the band. And it's a song where the 'Gothenburg effect' breaks through the most.

To sum up: "Abysmal" picks up the thread where The Black Dahlia Murder ended with "Everblack". It's more the fine tuning than doing something totally new the band does on the new longplayer. It's this detailism that makes "Abysmal" to a cool death metal record that will not disappoint fans of the band. You guys don't have to hesitate going for this longplayer.





  1. Receipt
  2. Vlad, Son of the Dragon
  3. Abysmal
  4. Re-Faced
  5. Threat Level No.3
  6. The Fog
  7. Styiophobic
  8. Asylum
  9. The Advent
  10. That Cannot Die Which Eternally is Dead


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Release Date EU: September 28th, 2015

Tag(s) : #The Black Dahlia Murder, #Death Metal, #Thrash Metal, #Heavy Metal, #CD Review, #News