(2/10) Varg has never been one of my most favorite bands and the new album will not change anything. After the single release "Rotkäppchen" the new full-length album "Das Ende aller Lugen" will hit the record shops in January and I can say already at this stage that the controversy discussions probably will not stop with this release.

The album begins with one of the most touching moments in cineastic history. It's the speech of Charlie Chaplin in "The Great Dictator" when he talks about freedom and humanity. This speech is always a moment when a shiver runs over me.

However, I wonder why Varg puts this speech as an intro on top of the tracklist. Is it to make a statement against all the demons of the past? To me, not really if I listen to lyrics like in "The End of All Lies".

Is it, that humanity and freedom should be the overall message on this album? The intro might gives you this impression. But what wonders me is what's the link between Chaplin's speech and the brutal lyrics about killing, slitting throats and so on. Those lyrics are about 'fight' and not about 'humanity' and 'freedom'. Or just bring together the message of the speech and the cover of this album. The gap couldn't be bigger.

Don't get me wrong here, nothing against splatter lyrics in death metal and I do like bands like Cannibal Corpse and Obituary. But my question is: what's the point here? I think that Chaplin would turn over in his grave while seeing his movie scene in such a context. I have to say that all this sounds very strange to me in times when the focus should be on 'unite' and not 'divide'.

Furthermore the album comes in two versions. One is in English and there is a German version too. On the one hand this is a nice extra that for sure was also more costly than just releasing one version only. But also here is the question 'why'? What's the point?

I would have loved to pay more attention to the music, but there isn't that much to tell. It's again this mic of thrash and melodic death metal with some metalcore elements. The songs don't sound bad, but there are also bands out there that play the same kind of music, just moe thrilling.

All this together leads to 2 points. The music itself gets 4 points and the lyrics are a clearly 0. I would definitely invest my money into something else. An album that helps to leave the past behind looks differently from this.






  1. Der grosse Diktator
  2. Das Ende aller Lügen
  3. Revolution
  4. Streyfzug
  5. Achtung
  6. Dunkelheit
  7. Totentanz
  8. Einherjer
  9. Winterstrum
  10. Ascheregen


  1. The Great Dictator
  2. The End of All Lies
  3. Revolution
  4. Streyfzug
  5. Achtung
  6. Darkness
  7. The Dance of Death
  8. Einherjer
  9. Winterstorm
  10. Rain of Ashes


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Pagan Metal

Release Date EU: January 15th, 2016




CD review VARG "Das Ende aller Lügen"
Tag(s) : #Varg, #Pagan Metal, #Thrash Metal, #News, #CD Review, #Death Metal