(7/10) If you hear a band name like Lethal Steel, are you're thoughts around something else than real heavy metal. No.

Lethal Steel is from Sweden, started in 2012 when the band issued their first demo.

The new album of the Stockholm-based band is called "Legion of the Night" and it's filled with real traditional metal, inspired by the NWoBHM and earlier US metal. It seems that there is a next generation of Swedish metal bands coming up, thinking about Ambush, Air Raid and... Lethal Steel.

Looking to the new album shows songs like "Nattsvart" that features great guitarlines, melodic leads and well-crafted hooks. Legal Steel can also play fast, something they prove on the furious "Warrior" followed by the galloping "Night of the Witch". It's a six minutes long hymn that start slow and easy, before it turns into a powerful metal track that reminded me to the early Stormwitch; something that's not only based on the song's name.

Next to these numbers I can also recommend to check-out "Into the Void of Lucifer" as well as the merciless "Demon of the Past".

If you're a fan of melodic oldschool heavy metal without any bells and whistles, than you should listen to "Legion of the Night". This album is full of cool headbangers. The metal underground is alive and that's one of the best news in 2016.





  1. Sirius
  2. Nattsvart
  3. Rosier
  4. Warrior
  5. Night of the Witch
  6. Into the Void of Lucifer
  7. Nocturnal Seductress
  8. Demon from the Past


Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: January 29th, 2016

CD review LETHAL STEEL "Legion of the Night"
Tag(s) : #Leathal Steel, #News, #Heavy Metal, #Power Metal, #CD Review, #Air Raid, #Ambush