(8/10) Four years after having released "Fire & Damnation" Mem v. Stein and his thrash gang releases a new longplayer called "The Raging Tide". But Exumer's history starts far earlier. The German thrash veterans published their debut called "Possessed by Fire" back in 1986 and I still can remember when a friend of mine advised me to listen to this German metal milestone. It was a great moment and this album could easily cope with Kreator's "Pleasure to Kill" and Sodom's "Obsessed by Cruelity".

Exumer's second album "Rising From the Sea" was another well done release but couldn't get up to the level of the debut. Last but not least it was in the beginning of the 90's when grunge gained momentum and bands like Exumer had a hard time. In the end the band disbanded and it took till 2008 to come back.

As said, "The Raging Tide" is the fourth longplayer of the guys from Germany, produced by nobody less than Mr. Waldemar Soychta - another metal veteran from the eighties (Despair's "History of Hate" was released in 1988).

The new album is broaches the issue of human suffering. Exumer is a band with lyrics that have a meaning. The band has something to say.

The music on "The Raging Tide" is oldschool thrash metal that has sometimes a touch of Exodus ("Shadow Walker") while the opener reminds of the early German thrash metal days. Uncompromising and straight forward the tune is a metallic cracker that is chosen for a good reason to be the title track.

When I say oldschool it doesn't mean that Exumer sounds old-fashioned. Not at all. It's more like the sound being rooted in the eighties, supported by a modern production. 

My personal fave on "The Raging Tide" is the "Catatonic" with its hammering riff. This number is a real headbanger with a big chance of becoming a fix part of Exumer's live shows.

"Dark Reflections" is another riff attack before the less than three minutes long "Death Factory" ends an album that states: Exumer is back again and they came to stay. "The Raging Tide" might not reach the legendary status of the debut, but in the end it's the expected well-crafted thrash album. I'm looking forward to the live shows.





  1. The Raging Tide
  2. Brand of Evil
  3. Catatonic
  4. Sacred Defence
  5. Welcome to Hellfire
  6. Sinister Souls
  7. Shadow Walker
  8. There Will be Always Blood
  9. Dark Reflections
  10. Death Factory


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: January 29th, 2016

CD review EXUMER "The Raging Tide"
Tag(s) : #Exumer, #Thrash Metal, #Heavy Metal, #Speed Metal, #News, #CD Review