(8/10) It was May 13th 2012 when Trondr Nefas, singer and guitars of Urgehal, sadly passed away; something that was the end of Urgehal too. However, the Norwegians decided to pay respect to the creations of Nefas and completed the recording of the final Urgehal album.

50% of the songs have been written by Trndr while the second half was done by guitarist Enzifer. "Aeons in Sodom" is the title of this final Urgehal chapter that contains twelve songs of which two are covers.

It's almost spooky to hear Nefas with some guitar solos on this album that comes also with a longer list of guests and friends. Nocturno Culto (Darkthrone), M. Shax (Endezzma), Bryon Braidwood (Monumtomb), Hoest (Taake) and Mannevond (Koldbrann), just to mention some, are part of this special record which can be almost seen as kind of tribute record.

The starting point is an intro called "Dødsrite" which sets the the tone of voice for what comes next, and that's "The Iron Chidren". This number is a mean black'n'roller with Darkthrone's Nocturno Culto behind the mic. 

After a pretty fast beginning Urgehal even upshifts and increases speed on "Blood of the Legion". "The Sulphour Black Haze" opens the musical gates to the abyss followed by the diabolic "Lord of Horns", a song with an uncompromissing blast.

The numbers towards the end get a bit longer, with "Psychedelic Evil" being the one with the longest play time. Six minutes often stand for epical sound structures. Not when it comes to Urgehal. The tune is an six minutes inferno with screaming guitars, villainsous vocals and merciless drums.

After this trip to hell "Woe", an organ-based instrumental, marks the final end of Urgehal.

With this album the last chapter of Urgehal is closed, but it is/was a thrilling last one that will be appreciated by black metallers.





  1. Dødsrite
  2. The Iron Chilrden
  3. Blood of the Legion
  4. The Sulphur Black Haze
  5. Lord of Horns
  6. Norwegian Blood and Crystal Lakes
  7. Thy Deamon Incarnation
  8. Endetid
  9. Psychedelic Evil
  10. Woe
  11. Funeral Rites (Sepultura cover)
  12. Twisted Mass of Burnt Decay (Autopsy cover)


Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: February 12th, 2016

CD review URGEHAL "Aeons in Sodom"
Tag(s) : #Urgehal, #Black Metal, #Death Metal, #Heavy Metal, #News, #CD Review