(7/10) I don't think that there aren't a lot of metal covers that are kept in green. The new disc of German Godslave got such an artwork which fits very well considering the album title being "Welcome to the Green Zone".

The five-piece from Saarbrücken, Germany is ready with their fourth album, featuring eleven songs that are typical German thrash metal. Especially the vocals, done by Gnomos, remind more than once of Destruction's Schmier, while some other parts of "Welcome to the Green Zone" are more Bay Area inspired. Talking about the vocals also means touching on one of the weak spot of this album. Actually the rougher vocal sections are done very well, but the high pitches become annoying over time. Next to this downer there are sometimes almost endless receptions of a riff like in  "Bloodhound Pack".

Anyhow, besides those two points of critisism "Welcome to the Green Zone" is a well done thrash metal album, that is authentic and kept true. It's not the musical finesse that is the major asset of this release and it's also not the level of innovation that is jaw-dropping. But it's the authentic approach and the passion of the five guys this album stands for. What you hear is what you get.

Songs like the aggressive "Mad in Germany" or the furious and more classic "Children of the Pit" are cool tracks with nothing to complain about. Those tunes are entertaining and uncompromising metal with the latter including even a sing-a-long chorus.

Each of you that prefers a very good a minor league match more than a boring major league competition should go for Godslave.





  1. Green Zone
  2. Bloodhound Pack
  3. So Let it Burn
  4. Because We Can
  5. Idolozed
  6. Demon
  7. Mad in Germany
  8. My Journey
  9. 6 2.3
  10. Children of the Pit
  11. Ebnd of History


Label: Green Zone Music

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: March 18th, 2016

CD review GODSLAVE "Welcome to the Green Zone"
Tag(s) : #Godslave, #Thrash Metal, #Heavy Metal, #Speed Metal, #News, #CD Review, #Destruction, #Exodus