(9/10) Redemption can already look back on a rich history that covers quite some excellent longplayer. It's five full-length records that have seen the light of day since the beginning of the new century and number six is now out in the record stores.

What's impressive with such a 'super group' is the consistancy when it comes to the line-up. The two main men behind Redemption are the two guitarists. Bernie Versailles and Nick van Dijk kicked it off in 2001, but in the meantime also Fates Warning singer Ray Alder and drummer Chris Quirarte are part of this prog metal command since many years.

When it comes to the new album "The Art of Loss" I almost got the feeling that at least the title has some autobiographical components, knowing that van Dijk recovered from blood cancer while Versailles is still on his way to come back after dealing with aneurysm.

Anyhow, five years after having released the latest studio album Redemption is back with their newest output. The record was long awaited and after having heard the disc I can conclude it is a real strong return of this prog metal flagship.

"The Art of Loss" continues with where the band stopped with "This Mortal Coil". The music is still comparable with outputs from Fates Warning (not only based on Alder's vocals) and Dream Theater. What is the joy of this album is the fact that Redemption never forgets that music is more than 'just' notes. The guys manage to give the each of the songs a high level of importance by adding emotions, dynamic and melodies. Van Dijk and Co. does this very well by not forgetting hardness when it comes to riffs and sound.

The highlight on this anyhow pretty strong album is the closer "The Day's End". Here we are talking about a 23 minutes long masterpiece that shows tha high level of musianship that goes along with the band. This epos contains so many ideas, twists and tweaks that it is thrilling throughout. I mention this song by purpose since it contains all you can get from Redemption. But I also have to say that the rest of this album can easily keep the high level of the closer. Tunes like heavier "Damaged", the title track with the neo classic solos and the light-hearted "The Golden Light" are pearls of progressive metal. This music fits for guys that want to have a high standard musical level as well as for fans that enjoy good music and well-crafted melodies.

Redepemtion is one of those bands that always delivered excellent music without getting really famous. But maybe it is this 'underground' status that keeps them fresh and going.

"The Art of Loss" became the expected great successor of "This Mortal Coil" and it's another milestone in the bands history that you should have heard.





  1. The Art of Loss
  2. Slouching Towards Bethlehem
  3. Damaged
  4. Hope Dies Last
  5. The Golden Light
  6. Thirty Silver
  7. The Center of the Fire
  8. Love Reign O'er Me
  9. At Day's End


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Prog Metal

Release Date EU: February 26th, 2016

CD review REDEMPTION "The Art of Loss"
Tag(s) : #Redemption, #Fates Warning, #Dream Theater, #News, #CD Review, #Prog Rock, #Prog Metal, #Heavy Metal