(8/10) It was one and a half years ago when I got the first album from IAmTheMorning and the first thing that stood out was the name itself, for two reasons. The name itself is unusual for metal and the way it's written attracts attention too.

That the band's name doesn't sound like metal isn't a coincidence since the duo from St. Petersburg, Russia isn't metal. IAmTheMorning is a prog rock band that focusses more on big soundscapes than heavy riffing and brutal basslines.

Twelve new songs made it on "Lighthouse" and apposite to the title the tune starts with some gently breaking waves, introducing the first song, "Too many years". One of the biggest assets of IAmTheMorning is, next to a great sense for great songs, the outstanding vocals of Marjana Semkina . Her voice is a perfect symbiosis with the band's sound. Listen to the opener and you'll understand what I'm talking about. Sometimes only accompanied by the piano it's Marjana's intonation that blows life into tunes like "Too Many Years", but also all the other numbers on "Lighthouse".

With "Clear clearer" the band merges Kate Bush and prog rock while "Harmony" sound like a sunrise on a fresh and innocent morning. IAmTheMorning have the ability to express various spheres with their music which makes the album to a fascinating musical adventure which you don't want to miss out, something that's being confirmed by the outstanding "Matches" too.

"Lighthouse" is a romantic, fragile, solid and beautiful longplayer that shows IAmTheMorning on a new level. "Lighthouse" proves that there is music for brain and heart. This band has the potential to enter the Champions League of prog rock.





  1. I Came Before the Water pt.1
  2. Too Many Years
  3. Clear Clearer
  4. Sleeping Pills
  5. Libretto Horror
  6. Lighthouse ft. Mariusz Duda
  7. Harmony
  8. Matches
  9. Blighted
  10. Chalk and Coal
  11. I Came Before the Water pt.2
  12. Post Scriptum


Label: Kscope

Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: April 1st, 2016

CD review IAMTHEMORNING "Lighthouse"
Tag(s) : #IAmTheMorning, #Rock, #Prog Rock, #News, #CD Review, #Riverside, #Porcupine Tree, #King Crimson