(8/10) Spanish powerhouse Lords Of Black is interesting for two reasons. First of all the guys from Madrid releases with "II" their second album which is full of pretty good power metal hymns. Each of these is well-crafted and csn easily love up to international standards.

The second reason why the quartet is interesting is based on an announcement from a few month ago when iconic guitarist Ritchie Blackmore announce a couple of live shows with the legendary Rainbow. After unveiling the dates it was the band that was revealed. It is Lords Of Black singer Ronnie Romero that will be the frontman for these Rainbow shows. For sure big footsteps for such a young singer knowing that the mighty Ronnie James Dio was THE voice of Rainbow in the past.

Anyhow, if I listen to Romero on the e.g. first two tracks ("Merciless" and "Only One Life Away"), then I can imagine him also doing Rainbow tunes.

But lets pay a bit more attention to Lords Of Black second album. As said, the longplayer is full of melodic metal songs that are vital and dynamic. "II" is a wake-up call for fans of the early Stratovarius & Co.. Heavy riffs meet catchy melodies while still being heavy instread of cheesey.

Next to the mentioned two tracks the more bombastic rocker "Tears I Will Be" belongs to the really strong tracks on "II" while the real masterpiece comes closer towards the end of this CD. "Ghost of You" is a nine minuted long epos that shows all the capabilities of guitarist Tony Hernando and his gang.

"II" is a really strong power metal album and we will see if Romero's sidestep towards Rainbow will be pleasure or burdon for Lords Of Black. The band has enough potential for not ending up as 'the band with the Rainbow singer'.





  1. Malevolently Beautiful (intro)
  2. Merciless
  3. Only One Life Aaway
  4. Everything You're Not
  5. New World's Comin'
  6. Cry No More
  7. Tears I Will Be
  8. Insane
  9. Live by the Lie, Die by the Truth
  10. Ghost of You
  11. The Art of Illusion Part III: The Wasteland
  12. Shadows of War


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: March 18th, 2016



Tag(s) : #Lords Of Black, #Rainbow, #Heavy Metal, #Melodic Metal, #News, #CD Review, #Power Metal