(8/10) Mark Tremonti releases his highly anticipated new solo album "Dust" in the coming days, which is, I guess, a great moment for all fans of the iconic guitarist. "Dust" was recorded already during the "Cauterize" session. Tremonti had material for two full-length records and what makes more sense than splitting it up into two releases. By doing this Tremonti can easily bridge the waiting time till the next Alter Bridge album will see the light of day somewhere later this year.

"Dust" comes with 10 tracks that aren't throw-outs from the "Cauterize" session. Each of the tunes on "Dust" can easily handle a comparison with the predecessor.

The album starts pretty heavy. "My Last Mistake" is the name of the opener that is introduced by an enormous riff. This song is real stuff for headbangers and one of the most powerful tracks on the album. I like these downtuned riffs "The Last Mistake" provides. And I like that Tremonti has chosen this number as the opener. It's a real energizer that brings you into the right mood for the upcoming nine songs.

"The Cage" includes the pleasure of slow, almost Sabbath-like, riffs in the middle part before Tremonti unveils again his virtuosity. In the end it's a typical Tremonti song that's spiced-up a bit.

"Once Dead" doesn't sound very optimistic and indeed, it's one of the darker tracks on the album that has some raging instrumental parts combined with a melodic chorus. This interplay give the tune the tension needed and it shows why Tremonti once said that the harder tracks become Tremonti ones.

The title track has an acoustic beginning and spreads a certain ease, something that doesn't last for too long. But to my surprise it's not a giant break that kills the silence. The tune slowly builds up to a moderate paced Tremonti song that is beautiful. It's a song that differs a bit from the rest of the album and I'm surprised that "Dust" became the name giver for the entire album. Anyhow, an emotional moment on "Dust" and a good song too.

"Catching Fire" starts gloomy and dark, something that characterizes the entire song, esp. in the verse. Towards the end it gets more soulful again. "Unable to See" is more a rock song than a metal track, at least in the beginning. After such a soulful start things get harder again and the tune develops into a real anthem that should become a fix part of the Tremonti setlist.

"Dust" offers what you expect, well done Tremonti songs that are slightly harder than Alter Bridge. Each of the tracks is a little highlight in itself and the entire album will be a treat for each Tremonti/Alter Bridge fan.





  1. My Last Mistake
  2. The Cage
  3. Once Dead
  4. Dust
  5. Betray Me
  6. Tore my Heat Out
  7. Catching Fire
  8. Never Wrong
  9. Rising Storm
  10. Unable to See


Label: Fret12 Records

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: April 29th, 2016

CD review TREMONTI "Dust"
Tag(s) : #Tremonti, #Alter Bridge, #Alternative Metal, #Alternative Rock, #Modern Metal, #News, #CD Review