(9/10) To review Death's milestone "Scream Bloody Gore" is like carrying sand to the beach. It's the debut of Chuck Schuldiner's legendary band, an album that was released in 1987 with a sound that was ground breaking. "Scream Bloody Gore" marked the beginning of a new era of death metal. Schuldiner combined, like almost nobody else, the brutality of death metal with a filigrane guitar play that showed so many nuances.

I can remember the time when the album was released. We have been a bunch of young metalheads and what we heard was something that blew us away. This was the hardest stuff we have heard up till then and we have been fascinated and confused, all in one.

This was 30 years ago and I'm happy that Relapse Records salutes those Death classics with re-releasing them in a remastered version. Records like "Leprosy" and "Spiritual Healing" have been published already, now followed by the debut. Like said earlier, I don't think that I have to go deeper into talking about the album. The status of the longplayer speaks for itself and you should just enjoy this death metal feast.

What's interesting is the stuff on CD 2. This is the true treasure box for Death fans. This disc includes recordings from the rehearsals as well as songs from the Florida session, all of them unreleased. Of course, the sound isn't that much standing out, but in this case it doesn't matter, since it doesn't count. It's more the unique view behind the curtain of one of the most influencial metal bands. By listening to each of the reissues it becomes very obvious how big the loss of bandleader Chuck Schuldiner was and still is. This man was a musical genius and the fact that we are still talking about him and his music, 15 years after he passed away far too early, that says it all.

"Scream Bloody Gore" opened a brand new chapter of metal and even if you're not a death metal fan, you should have this album. "Scream Bloddy Gore" is cult, something that wil never come back in such a way.




Tracklist (Delux Edition):

Disc 1

  1. Infernal Death
  2. Zombie Ritual
  3. Denial Of Life
  4. Sacrificial
  5. Mutilation
  6. Regurgitated Guts
  7. Baptized In Blood
  8. Torn To Pieces
  9. Evil Dead
  10. Scream Bloody Gore
  11. Beyond The Unholy Grave
  12. Land Of No Return

Disc 2

  1. Torn To Pieces (Original Florida Session)
  2. Legion Of Doom (Original Florida Session)
  3. Scream Bloody Gore (Original Florida Session)
  4. Sacrificial (Original Florida Session)
  5. Mutilation (Original Florida Session)
  6. Land Of No Return (Original Florida Session)
  7. Baptized In Blood (Original Florida Session)
  8. Regurgitated Guts (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  9. Sacrificial (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  10. Sacrificial - Take 2 (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  11. Torn To Pieces (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  12. Do You Love Me? V1 (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  13. Infernal Death (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  14. Zombie Ritual (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  15. Beyond The Unholy Grave (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  16. Do You Love Me? V2 (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)
  17. Denial Of Life (Rehearsals 08-20-1986)


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: May 20st, 2016


CD review DEATH "Scream Bloody Gore" (Reissue)
Tag(s) : #Death, #Death Metal, #Thrash Metal, #News, #CD Review