(8/10) It's again Frontiers Music that managed to bring together some musicians that are well known in metal, to work on a common album. This time it's a combination of five German guys that are the persons behind Phantom 5. Claus Lessmann, Michael Voss, Robby Boebel, Francis Buchholz and Axel Kruse are the gones that recorded this album which features 11 songs.

First thing that catches your attention is the tracklist of "Phantom 5". Titles like "Don't Touch the Light" and "Since You've Been Gone" sound like the band having recorded cover versions of these tracks. But while listening to the album it becomes clear to you, that it's just the naming and not more that is in common. There might be reasons behind this or it was just coincident, however, the question if these tracks are providing good music.

Yes, they do. Phantom 5 is focussing on melodic metal that transports quite some power. The album is harder than what I have expected. Phantom 5 combines everything German melodic metal stands for. Well done hooks can be heard on "Phantom 5" as well as gritty guitars and a solid rhythm section. "Renegade" as an example, stands for all the mentioned.And also "Ahaha" sing-a-long sections are built into this track, that also comes with some Whitesnake-like melody lines as well.

The opener" All the Way" is a pushing hardrocker that functions well as an introduction for what's coming next on this album. Softer sounds are included in "We Both Had Our Time", a song that's no ballad, with a chorus that is actually a well rocking one. The verse instead is highly melodic with a touch of AOR.

All in all there is nothing wrong with Phantom 5's release. The only thing I have a problem with these kind of record is the fact that these projects are done purely with the purpose for realsing one album. There is no organic growth and development, it;s just for the here & now. But on the other hand, who cares if the songs are OK, something I can confirm for this release.





  1. All the Way
  2. Blue Dog
  3. Someday
  4. Don't Touch the Light
  5. Renegade
  6. Flying High
  7. Since You've Been Gone
  8. They Won't Come Back
  9. Frontline
  10. We Both Had Our Time
  11. Why


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: May 15th, 2016

CD review PHANTOM 5 "Phantom 5"
Tag(s) : #Phantom 5, #Casanova, #Bonfire, #Melodic Metal, #Hardrock, #News, #CD Review