(8/10) OK, Michael Sweet is the frontman of Stryper and I think that almost each metal fan has his/her own opinion about the yellow/black fanatics with the special image. I must admit that I wasn't the biggest fan of the band even though I still appreciate listening to songs like "Soldiers Under Command" once in a while.

However, Stryper frontman Michael Sweet seems to be quite active these days. After having had a good album with Stryper ("Fallen") the singer also did a collaboration project with guitar wizard George Lynch, an album that sounded pretty good too.

Now it's time for a solo release called "One Sided War", a longplayer that surprised me since it's a really entertaining one. It's not a secret at all that Sweet is a pretty good singer and the fact that he teamed-up with Whitesnake guitarist Joel Hoekstra made the twelve songs on the album even better. Ethan Brosh is also contributing to the album as well as Evanescence drummer Will Hunt, who is, together with John O'Boyle responsible for the rhythm section.

"Bizarre" is the furious opener that comes with wild guitars and damn good vocals. The title track is next, the pace becomes more moderate, the energy level stays high -  that's how I could summarize this tune.

"Radio" is a midpace groover that starts with a western-like acoustic guitar before the drums join in and add heaviness to this half-ballad. "Only You" has great vocal lines that makes the tune to a joyful one and we have to wait till "Who I Am" to get the first ballad served on the sliver CD plate. But also here Sweet doesn't add too much cliche to this rock song. It's a soulful one but not a cheesy one.

I like the album a lot and I could imagine that fans of the earlier Dokken will go through the same pleasureable moments. "One Sided War" is well done melodic metal/hardrock of passionate musicians having fun with what they are doing.





  1. Bizarre
  2. One Sided War
  3. Can't Take This Life
  4. Radio
  5. Golden Age
  6. Only You
  7. I Am
  8. Who Am I
  9. You Make Me Wanna
  10. Comfort Zone
  11. One Way Up
  12. Can't Take This Life (*bonus track* featuring Moriah Formica)


Label: Ratpak Records

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: August 26th, 2016

CD review MICHAEL SWEET "One Sided War"
Tag(s) : #Michael Sweet, #Stryper, #Hardrock, #Melodic Metal, #Melodic Rock, #News, #CD, #Joel Hoekstra