(6/10) I'm not really sure" if "Resurrection" stays for nomen et omen when it comes to Geoff Tate and his musical ambitions. The singer that celebrated great successes with Queensryche, also having a great voice with a wide range, struggled a bit over the last years. The glorious days have been back in the past and the newer material of the iconic singer led to some controversial discussion amongst metal fans. One thing's already clear at this stage, "Resurrection" will not end these talks.

"Resurrection" is the second album of a trilogy and it follows "The Key" that was released around a year ago. The new longplayer is slightly better than the predecessor but it's still an album that is missing a common approach, from beginning to end. It feels like Tate himself is in the inner conflict of continuing what he started and achieved with Queensryche while also following new ideas and sounds. He calls the band Operation: Mindcrime, referring to the highly successful Queensryche release and also some of the tracks show patterns of the past. "Left for Dead" is for example a song that could have been from the "Empire"-session and "Miles Away" could have been from the same era too. Both are good tracks, showing the potential and passion of Tate for contemporary metal music with a progressive touch.

Unfortunately there are also songs on "Resurrection" that are less thrilling. "The Fight" is a slower paced one with a reflective vibe that is very much standard. I had the feeling of having heard such a number already far too often.

In general I must say the second half of the album is  anyhow less thrilling than the first songs. "Invincible" is one of the better tracks again before "A Smear Campaign" brings back the confusion. I actually like the well integrated saxophone parts, but I wonder what this song should stand for. It's neither nor. "Which Side Your On" feels fragmented and the following "Into the Hands of the World" is a hard to digest piece of music that is one of the real downers on "Resurrection".

I'm not sure if it wouldn't have been better to start under a totally new banner rather than referring to the past without getting close to the glorious "Rage for Order" and "Operation: Mindcrime" days. A new banner, another sound and a band rather than a project - a brave new start of one of the best singers in metal music might help to give new direction. The second album seems to be a next step on a journey of finding a new musical identity, a trip that is so far very confusing.





  1. Resurrection
  2. When All Falls Away
  3. A Moment in Time
  4. Through the Noize
  5. Left for Dead
  6. Miles Away
  7. Healing my Wounds
  8. The Fight
  9. Taking on the World
  10. Invincible
  11. A Smear Campaign
  12. Which Side Your On
  13. Into the Hands of the World
  14. Live from my Machine


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Progressive Metal

Release Date EU: September 23rd, 2016

CD review OPERATION: MINDCRIME "Resurrection"
Tag(s) : #Operation Mindcrime, #Prog Metal, #News, #CD Review, #Heavy Metal, #Alternative Metal