(9/10) I can remember the moment when I listened the first time to The Quireboys debut back in "A Bit of What You Fancy". It was in 1990 when the guys from London released the album that gave me some jaw-dropping moments. Right at the end of the overdone L.A. hairspray rock era it was a refreshing moment listening to this band that undusted hardrock music.

Compared to bands like Guns'n'Roses and some others The Quireboys never really got onto the bigger spotlight. They got a lot of attention on the rock scene, but also timing didn't really help them to make them noticable in a wider way.

The upcoming grunge period didn't make it easy for bands playing blues-base hardrock and I also have to admit that I lost the band from my radar. However, this was the past and we are in the here and now. That means that we should talk about "Twisted Love". The album is the newest output from the guys and it contains excellent hardrock with a dirty street vibe. Eventhough the record got an excellent spund it's not over üroduced and includes a lot of street credibility.

Two songs are standing out. "Twisted Love" is the first one. A grooving rock song with great ,melodies and a warmly singing hammond organ are the main components of this smasher. This song has a 'wow' factor which ensures excitement for many months.

To put the groove evem more in focus means listening to"Gracie B". This tune is absolute highlight on the album and the best song I have heard from The Quireboys. This rhythm's is slowly creeping into your ears and your mind - a song that you can't forget that easily. And as with "Twosted Love, it's the Hammond that gives this track it's personality.

But also tracks like the opener"Torn & Frayed" which is a uptempo rocker, "Life's a Bitch" with it's Stones crossreferences and the bluesy ballas "Midnight Collective" are great tracks that will be a treat for fans of bands like the earlier L.A. Guns, the Stones and Cinderella.

"Twisted Love" is a down-to-earth rock album that is authentic. Each note carrys the dust from the highway including high spirits and passion for good rock music.

In times of scial media the only verdict for this release can be 'I like'.





  1. Torn & Frayed
  2. Ghost Train
  3. Killing Time
  4. Twisted Love
  5. Breaking Rocks
  6. Gracie B
  7. Life's a Bitch
  8. Stroll On
  9. Shotgun Way
  10. Midnight Collective


Label: Off Yer Rocka Recordings

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: September 9th, 2016

CD review THE QUIREBOYS "Twisted Love"
Tag(s) : #The Quireboys, #News, #CD Review, #Rock, #Hardrock, #Sleaze Rock, #Blues, #Classic Rock