(9/10) One of the most underrated bands in metal is for sure Cirith Ungol. The guys from Ventura, California started their journey back in 1972, but it took till 1981 to release the debut called "Frost and Fire". Prior to this album Cirith Ungol released two demos and in total the guys can look back on four full-length records, all published during the 80's / beginning of the ninties.

Cirith Ungol got a lot of positive feedback from metal fans all over the world. However, they never left the underground and got a kind of cult-status over time. The fourth album, "Paradise Lost", was published in 1991 and it was the last longplayer of the quintet. The distribution of "Paradise Lost" couldn't be secured for Europe and in addition the record company released the band from its three album deal. All this brought a lot of frustration, something that led the end of Cirith Ungol.

Now, 25 years later, the fourth album comes back into the record shops. It's a re-issue that includes the nine original track plus 5 alternative mixes. All tracks for the CD are remastered by Bart Gabriel and the nine songs on the vinyl package have been remastered by Patrick W. Engel.

"Paradise Lost" is a great album and after having listened to these songs again and again I still wonder why Cirith Ungol never reached a wider fan base. The eight minutes long masterpiece "Chaos Rising" shows the full potential of this five-piece from California. It's an epical number that's more than just a song. It's the narration of a story with other mans that only reading. Silent section and heavy riffs interact in an exciting way, representing a real metal spirit. "Fallen Idols" is the next chapter in this 'Paradise Lost' trilogy that ends with the title track. The slowly rolling riff and the desperate vocals of the latter declare a lost paradise and you can feel it with each note. These three tunes belong to the best Cirith Ungol ever wrote and recorded.

Thanks to Metal Blade this diamond of epic power metal shines again, brighter than ever before. In case you missed the album in the 90's, now it's the time to bridge the gap.





  1. Join The Legion
  2. The Troll
  3. Fire
  4. Heaven Help Us
  5. Before The Lash
  6. Go It Alone
  7. Chaos Rising
  8. Fallen Idols
  9. Paradise Lost
  10. Join The Legion (alt mix)
  11. The Troll (alt mix)
  12. Before The Lash (alt mix)
  13. Chaos Rising (alt mix)
  14. Paradise Lost (alt mix)


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Epic Metal

Release Date EU: October 7th, 2016

CD review CIRITH UNGOL "Paradise Lost"
Tag(s) : #Cirith Ungol, #Heavy Metal, #Epic Metal, #Power Metal, #US Metal, #News, #CD Review