(7/10) I start this review a bit upside down. "The Book" comes with an additional bonus CD that contains the best of Graham's long history in classic rock music. The two Rainbow classics "All Night Long" and "Since You've Been Gone (a Russ Ballads cover) are on the second disc next to "Assault Attack" from the Michael Schenker Group, which the singer enriched with his voice. Also Bonnet's days with Alcatrazz are captured on this longplayer that gives a comprehensive overview of Graham Bonnet's rich musical history.

This was the past and now we need to talk about the present. The legendary singer grouped together a new band with Beth-Ami Heavenstone on bass, Conrado Pesinato on lead guitar, ex-Alcatrazz man Jimmy Waldo on keys and Mark Zonder (known for bands like Warlord and Fates Warning) on dums.

This quinet is the new Graham Bonnet Band which recorded with "The Book" a new album, featuring eleven new hardrock songs. Knowing the mentioned earlier classics from Bonnet, expectations have been high - maybe too high.

Don't get me wrong, the album isn't a lame one at all and actually it starts pretty fast with "Into the Night". Unfortunately this very positive impression gets compromised by the more average "Welcome to My Home", a song that doesn't really get off the ground. Also songs like "Rider" aren't galloping highlights. Again, we're not talking about bad tunes here, it's just that expectations have been higher.

A track that belongs again to the better ones on "The Book" is named "Dead Man Walking" and also the "Strangest Day" is more of a winner.  It would have been great though if more of these faster musical arrows would have been in Bonnet's quiver.

No doubt, Bonnet still has a great voice that enriches each of the new songs. However, something's missing. The longplayer is solid and interesting, but there aren't these 'wow moments' that blows you away.





CD 1:

  1. Into The Night
  2. Welcome To My Home
  3. Earth's Child (I Am Your Son)
  4. Rider
  5. Dead Man Walking; Strangest Day
  6. The Dance; Where Were You?
  7. The Book
  8. Everybody Wants To Go There
  9. California Air

CD 2:

  1. Eyes Of The World
  2. All Night Long
  3. Lost In Hollywood
  4. Since You Been Gone
  5. Night Games
  6. S.O.S.
  7. Assault Attack
  8. Dancer
  9. Desert Song
  10. Island In The Sun
  11. Hiroshima Mon Amour
  12. God Blessed Video
  13. Will You Be Home Tonigh
  14. Witchwood
  15. Stand In Line
  16. Here Comes The Night (Down Without A Fight)


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: November 4th, 2016

Tag(s) : #Graham Bonnet, #Graham Bonnet Band, #Rock, #Hardrock, #Classic Rock, #News, #CD Review