(8/10) Some of the The Old Dead Tree members started a new band called Arkan back in 2005. A year later the first EP hit the shelves, followed by three longplayers.

"Kelem" is the newest record of this French metal outfit and it combines again metal and some oriental soundscapes, something that becomes already very obvious while listening to the well-done opener "Kafir". Arakan's sound is often described as melodic death metal and indeed, there are tracks that come with deep growls and mighty riffs. Songs like the brutal "The Call" and also parts of "Erhal" speak a clear language. But next to these heavy metal monsters the majority of the album focusses more on melodies and clean vocals rather than brutal death metal shouting.

Arkan adds a dark vibe to their sound. Well-crafted tunes such as "Just a Lie" , Nour" and "Kelem" that are good songs with the latter entering the fields of modern metal more than death metal. The embedded melancholy gives the numbers an emotional depth, something that makes the album to a more intense experience for the listener. And last but not least and not to forget the acosutic intermezzo named "Eib" that adds a moment of reflection to this release.

Arkan published with "Kelem" an album that is technically done very well, benefits from a proper production and features good songs that are more build on modern/alternative metal. The band could be interesting for fans of the current In Flames sound.





  1. Kafir
  2. Nour
  3. The Call
  4. Cub of the Caliphate
  5. Erhal
  6. Eib
  7. Just a Lie
  8. Beyond the Wall
  9. Kelem
  10. Capital City Burns
  11. As A Salve
  12. Jasmine Harvest


Label: Overpowered Records

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: November 25th, 2016

CD review ARKAN "Kelem"
Tag(s) : #Arkan, #Melodic Metal, #Heavy Metal, #Alternative Metal, #Alternative Rock, #Modern Metal, #CD Review, #News, #Melodic Death Metal, #The Old Dead Tree