(5/10) I wonder what's the purpose of this release. I guess it's a kind of Christmas present for Enuff Z'Nuff die-hard fans since it doesn't really come with new material. Actually it does, since the songs haven't been released earlier, but they are from a time when Enuff Z'Nuff tried to ride the wave of sleaze metal back in the eighties.

The tunes were recorded during the band's work on the debut and ended up on a 2" inch analog tape that never saw the light of day. Guitar, bass vocals and so on have been newly recorded in Chicago since some tracks where missing in the original tapes. By doing all this I guess it was the aim of still letting the album sound, let's say, authentic and analog. At least I hope that this was the ambition because otherwise the sound would be a disappointment.

With "Dog on a Bone" the band recorded one new track that sounds pretty OK. Unfortunately this isn't enough for making the album stick out from the huge amount of excellent releasesof the last months. Songs like "Back in Time" and "She Makes it Harder" aren't jaw-dropping moments in sleaze rock and feel more like a collectors 'must have'.  

A tune that belongs to the better  ones on the record is the Tom Petty inspired ballad "The Devil of Shakespeare" feat. Jani Lane and James Young. But even this tracks sounds like bloodless. 

So there are a few numbers on this release that create a kind of flashback into the peak days of sleaze metal. "Clown Lounge" isn't more than that. 





  1. Dog on a Bone
  2. Runaway
  3. Back in Time
  4. She Makes it Harder
  5. Rockabye Dreamland
  6. The Devil of Shakespeare
  7. Radio
  8. Good Luv
  9. Round and Round
  10. Nothing
  11. Backstreet Kids
  12. One More Hit


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Sleaze Rock

Release Date EU: December 2nd, 2016

CD review ENUFF Z'NUFF "Clowns Lounge"
Tag(s) : #Enuff Z'Nuff, #Sleaze Rock, #Hardrock, #News, #CD Review, #Rock, #Glam Rock, #Classic Rock, #Blues