(8/10) Powerwolf can look back on a very active period in the band's history with quite some releases over the last few months. It was during summer 2015 when the band published "Blessed & Possessed", the sixth studio album of the wolf pack. After having been on tour for quite some time the metal preachers unveiled a live album called "The Metal Mass Live", followed by some festival shows - like the appearance on the 'Dynamo Metal Fest' in July 2016.

2017 starts with a special edition of Powerwolf's "Blessed & Possessed" album. It's the 'tour edition' which includes the entire studio longplayer, enriched with a live recording of the band's show at the 2015 Summer Breeze Open Air. Powerwolf played a full set in front of 40.000 metal fans, celebrating each of the chapters of  metal mass. 

In case you call the latest live release already your own, you will not get a lot of new things that come with the 'tour edition'. The setlist of this show and the tracklist of the latest live album are mainly similar, with very little exceptions like "Werewolves of Armenia". For the rest, there isn't anything negative that comes with this extra edition. The live sound is excellent, the fans are enjoying the show and the band's embracing the moment as well. That Attila does his announcements in German makes sense, thinking about the band having a 'home game' in front of a mainly German crowd. It might not be an easy thing (or a mission impossible) for non-German fans to understand what he 'preaches' but it's anyhow the music that counts.

If you have the original album and/or the latest live release you have to decide if you need also this tour edition. However, it's a nice extra for collectors, an album that keeps Powerwolf's flame burning.





CD 1:

  1. Blessed & Possessed
  2. Dead Until Dark
  3. Army of the Night
  4. Armata Strigoi
  5. We are the Wild
  6. Higher Than Heaven
  7. Christ & Combat
  8. Sanctus Dominus
  9. Sacramental Sister
  10. All You Can Bleed
  11. Let There be Night

CD 2:

  1. Intro
  2. Sanctified with Dynamite
  3. Coleus Sanctus
  4. Army of the Night
  5. Amen & Attack
  6. Resurrect by Erection
  7. Armata Strigoi
  8. Kreuzfeuer
  9. Werewolves of Armenia
  10. In the Name of God
  11. Blessed and Possessed
  12. All We Need is Blood
  13. Dead Boys Don't Cry
  14. We Drink Your Blood
  15. Lupus Dei


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: January 6th, 2017

CD review POWERWOLF "Blessed & Possessed" Tour Edition
Tag(s) : #Powerwolf, #Heavy Metal, #Power Metal, #News, #Live, #CD Review