(9/10) It's amazing. German melodic metal band Axxis releases their heavily anticipated 14th studio album. The band, celebrating their 30th anniversary next year, became a constant player in the team of melodic metal bands and fortunately there's no end in sight.

"Retrolution" is the title of their newest achievement that will be available end of February. In total the longplayer features thirteen songs that are all fully charged with all Axxis trademarks. It's the two mainmen Bernhard Weiß and keyboarder Harry Öllers that are mainly responsible for the bands sound, a mixture of melodic vocal lines and great keyboard sounds, but also guitar and riffs doesn't get too short. 

In general Axxis songs are based on a positive vibe. I don't want to use the term 'happy metal', but it these tracks can turn dark days into a sunny time. This is what we know from the earlier disc and it's also "Retrolution"s biggest strength.

Talking about the title - it is gambling with words, since there is 'retrospective' included as well as 'revolution', both terms describing the current situation in metal with e.g. a revitalisation of vinyl that takes place right now. So, this is for sure 'retro', but for the CD/mp3 generation it's a kind of 'revolution' too.

The five-piece from North Rhine-Westphalia starts the longplayer with “Burn! Burn! Burn!” which a moderate paced melodic metal tune build of a strong bassline and a cool groove. “All My Friends are Liars” is the next tune and it comes with all Axxis trademarks. Great hooks, meet a well-done melody and rocking guitars, things that also build the foundation for “Dream Chaser”.

Bernhard Weiss and his gang unveil the metal beast with uptempo smashers like ”Rock the Night Away”. To round of the entire spectra of Axxis song the band added a ballad called “Queen of the Wind” to the tracklist of “Retrolution”. All in all I must say that this longplayer contains everything you want to hear from the German melodic metal dinosaurs. As mentioned, Axxis is in business since many years and they are still burning for what they are doing – melodic metal that’s catchy and heavy. Great band, great album, great passion.





  1. Burn! Burn! Burn!
  2. All my friends are liars
  3. Dream Chaser
  4. Burn down your house
  5. Rock the night
  6. The world is mine
  7. Do it better
  8. Queen of the wind ​​​​​​​
  9. Seven Devils
  10. This is my day ​​​​​​​
  11. Somebody died at the party
  12. Heavy Metal Brother
  13. Welcome to my nightmare


Label: Phonotraxx Publishing

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: February 24th, 2017

CD review AXXIS "Retrolution"
Tag(s) : #Axxis, #Heavy Metal, #Melodic Metal, #News, #Hardrock, #CD Review, #Phonotraxx