(8/10) „Dead Shores Rising“ is the pathbreaking third album of German death metal outfit Deserted Fear. The three piece band from Eisenberg, Thuringia published two earlier releases via FDA Rekotz, the German label with a great sense for excellent death metal. „Dead Shores Rising“ is the first longplayer that comes via Century Media and the trio continues ,with support of the new label, their journey through forceful death metal that will be acclaimed by fans of bands like Bolt Thrower and Obituary.


The record starts with a sinister intro which brings you to „The Fall of Leaden Skies“. This opener is a raging death metal track with a vigorous effect. Not getting lost in unnecessary side-tracks, this song is to the point. Not that Deserted Fear reinvents the ‚death metal wheel‘, it’s more like the guysusing the existing ingredients to make something really good out of it.


Each of the songs is kept in a 3-4 minutes framework and is a true attack on your  neck muscles. You better train them before you start listen to this release. „Open Their Gates“ and „Corrosion of Souls“, all good songs with brutal riffs and excellently done growls.

After all these songs the „Interlude“ comes at the right spot on the ‚batting order‘. It’s a moment of silence, even though it picks-up the sinister atmosphere from the introduction.

„Towards Humanity“ is the beginning of the second half and it’s another merciless death metal beast that reaches your ears, mind and neck. A tune that stands out a bit is „Carry On“. Not only that the number feels with five minutes almost epical, it’s also Deserted Fear taking down the pace a bit which gives a well-received alternation in the entire flow of „Dead Shores Rising“.


This longplayer will not fall on deaf ears. It is a well done release that features great songs, an excellent production and a cool artwork. It all fits together in any shape or form. Congratulation for this dynamic and refreshing death metal record.









  1. Intro
  2. The Fall Of Leaden Skies
  3. The Edge Of Insanity
  4. Open Their Gates
  5. Corrosion Of Souls
  6. Interlude
  7. Towards Humanity
  8. The Carnage
  9. Face Our Destiny
  10. Till The Last Drop
  11. Carry On
  12. A Morbid Vision (Bonus track)
  13. The Path Of Sorrow (feat. Tomas Lindberg (At The Gates))(Bonus track) 


Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: January 27th, 2017

CD review DESERTED FEAR '"Dead Shores Rising"
Tag(s) : #Deserted Fear, #Death Metal, #Thrash Metal, #Speed Metal, #News