(7/10) I have to admit that grindcore doesn't belong to my special fields. There are bands like Napalm Death who's releases belong to my metal collection, but in general this style of metal got too little attention from my side.

However, I got The Drip's newest album called "The Haunting Fear of Inevitability" and I found my way into it. The group from Richland, Washington started 10 years ago and so far the guys released three EP's, followed by this longplayer which marks the band's debut.

Grindcore isn't music that comes with long epical tracks; and the same goes for this record. The tracklist consists out of 13 songs, providing you with 31 minutes of brutal and uncompromising metal. Most of them are highspeed ones with some exceptions. "Wretches" sticks out from the mass. It's a number that is kept more moderate with The Drip discovering the heaviness of slo-mo.

Additionally the disc benefits from a proper production, leading to a modern, dynamic and aggressive sound that fits the songs very well. Combined with a well done artwork "The Haunting Fear of Inevitability" became an album that will be appreciated by grindcore fans as well as it might act as a door opener for metalheads that didn't pay too much attention to this kind of metal music either.





  1. Blackest Evocation
  2. Anathema
  3. Gruesome Poetics
  4. Dead Inside
  5. Covered in Red
  6. Terror War Industry
  7. Painted Ram
  8. Wretches
  9. In Atrophy
  10. The Answer
  11. Exile
  12. Consigned to Fate
  13. Bone Chapel


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Grindcore

Release Date EU: January 13th, 2017

CD review THE DRIP "The Haunting Fear of Inevitability"
Tag(s) : #The Drip, #Grindcore, #Death Metal, #Thrash Metal, #CD Review