(7/10) The debut “The Life I Remember” has been released in 2015 and created some interest and excitement. Once Human’s sophomore record “Evolution” follows this year and comes with nine new tracks that are anchored in death metal a la Arch Enemy.

The band is the brainchild of former Machine Head guitarist Logan Mader, also known from bands like Soulfly. After having been behind the scene, producing metal records from bands such as Devil Driver, Mader did the step back into the spotlight with Only Human.

“Evolution” is an album that is death metal-based but it also shows some references to metalcore. In general there’s nothing wrong with this release, but you can sense already that it’s not the very prefect one too.

Lauren Hart does a great job and her screams are more than once comparable with the earlier mentioned Arch Enemy during the Angela Gossow days. Also riffs and production don’t give a reason for complaints. The album sounds divers and powerful even though some of the songs are coming with an end that’s fading out.

What’s in my opinion a bit of a downside with “Evolution” is that it feels like the band using a cookie cutter approach for their songs. After a few tracks I had the feeling of having heard it before. Again, there’s nothing wrong with the individual songs and maybe it’s only me, but the album felt a bit lengthy over time. The second thing I want to mention is that Only Human has recorded good music but the level of uniqueness isn’t sky-high.

“Evolution” is solid melodic death metal album that is modern and dynamic. It comes with a lot of power and energy, featuring songs that are good but not unique. Not more, but also not less.





  1. Flock Of Flesh
  2. Eye Of Chaos
  3. Mass Murder Frenzy
  4. Gravity
  5. Dark Matter
  6. Paragon
  7. Drain
  8. Killers For The Cure
  9. Passenger


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: February 10th, 2017

CD review ONCE HUMAN "Evolution"
Tag(s) : #Once Human, #CD Review, #News, #Melodic Death Metal, #Death Metal, #Thrash Metal, #earMUSIC