(7/10) I'm not really sure to what extend fans expect progression with new Six Feet Under longplayers. Up to now Chief growler Chris Barnes and his band released in the meantime more than ten studio, some of them being real genre classics. the newest one, recently added to the band's discography, is entitled "Torment", being their 12th one of the death metal dinosaur.

"Torment" includes  two interpretations of death metal. On the one side there are the simple and deep growls by former Cannibal Corpse frontman Barnes while the instrumental section of this trio - Jeff Hughell and Marco Pitruzella - adds a musical diversity to Six feet Under that's contrastive. This combination could do something for the songs on the album and indeed, some of the tracks benefit from it. It's especially the faster tracks that stand out on "Torment". The raging "Exploratory Homicide" is one of the best tracks on this disc and also "Schizomaniac", with it's grooving parts, belongs stands for good stuff that ended up on "Torment".

What's a bit of a bummer is the cookie-cutter approach used by Six Feet Under. Since quite some album the band caught in a gridlock, meaning the development of their sound stopped a while ago. The addition of some blast beats doesn't break this spell and Six Feet Under's appetite for development is rather limited. There was the attempt to add some variation to Six feet Under's sound but the final result doesn't vary much from what you heard on the last records.

However, approaching this from a positive view point also means that fans of Six Feet Under fans get what they are looking for - brutal oldschool death metal with Chris Barnes' mumbling growls, heavy riffs and a grooving rhythm section. "Torment" is far away from being a bad album, it's just not adding a lot of new things to the table either.





  1. Sacrificial Kill
  2. Exploratory Homicide
  3. The Separation of Flesh from Bone
  4. Schizomaniac
  5. Skeleton
  6. Knife Through the Skull
  7. Slaughtered as They Slept
  8. In the process of Decomposing
  9. Funeral Mask
  10. Obsidian
  11. Bloody Underwear
  12. Roots of Evil


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: February 24th, 2017


CD review SIX FEET UNDER "Torment"
Tag(s) : #Six Feet Under, #Death Metal, #Metal Blade, #News, #CD Review, #Thrash Metal, #Heavy Metal