CD review THE NIGHTS "The Nights"

(8/10) The Nights is a new player in the fields of melodic rock and they fit in a perfect way into Frontiers musical vision. The band was formed in 2015 when two Finnish guys combined their passion for rock. Sami Hyde and Ilkka Wirtanen started to work on a first album which became the self-titled longplayer that hit the shelves a few days ago.

The album is a surprise. The first tones give the idea of another melodic rock album. But this thought is swiped away after a heavy riff joins the show, something I haven't expected after the keyboard-based entry. This wasn't a one-time thing since also the following tunes are built around down-tuned guitars that are combined with melodic vocal lines. This combination makes the album a bit standing out from a standard setup. Of course, the obligatory ballad need to be in place. “I Will Never Stop Loving You” is stands for the romantic three minutes on this debut before a catchy rocker called “In A Blink of an Eye” takes over the scenery, reminding of Danish rocker of Skagarack.

The Nights isn’t re-inventing melodic hardrock. However, they’re doing a great job on the album by stepping away from too sweet melodies. The guys find the right balance between mainstream, hooks and straight-up rockers with crispy guitars. I guess we will hear more of The Nights during the coming months and years.





  1. Welcome to the Snow
  2. Nothing But Love
  3. Juliette
  4. I Will Never Stop Loving You
  5. In a Blink of an Eye
  6. Hold On
  7. Elegy (You Should be Here)
  8. Take Me to Heaven
  9. You Belong to Me Tonight
  10. I Wanna Be Your Superhero
  11. We Can Rule the World


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Hardrock

Release Date EU: August 4th, 2017

Tag(s) : #The Nights, #AOR, #Hardrock, #News, #Frontiers Music, #Rock