CD review KID ROCK "Sweet Southern Sugar"

(8/10) Robert James Ritchie, better known as Kid Rock, is back with a new longplayer. In a season of the year when dark en grey November days leads to a bad mood it’s “Sweet Southern Sugar” that brings some joy into your homes.

If you haven’t been living in a cave for the last decades you know Kid Rock, at least you have heard his smash hit “All Summer Long”. There was no way to escape and not listening to this multi-award-winning tune was a mission impossible.

That was the past and let’s see what “Sweet Southern Sugar” can do for us. Kid Rock stays true to himself and his music. I don’t think that anybody expected bigger changes. The new longplayer comprises 10 new songs that are again an mélange of Southern Rock, hardrock and some blues, which is combined, with some rap elements (“Grandpa’s Jam”).

Highlights on the album are the soulful “American Rock’n’Roll”, the heavily grooving “Po-Dunk” and the straightforward “Stand the Pain”. Next to these tracks it’s the gentle swinging “Sugar Pie Honey Bunch” that could help to get the album into the charts. The songs a cover of the “The Four Tops” hit “I Can’t Help Myself”, done in the typical Kid Rock fashion. The song got a proper country expression and I wonder why the song didn’t keep the origin name.

“Sweet Southern Sugar” lives up to expectations. It’s good music for a good time. Easy going sounds in a complex world.





  1. Greatest Show on Earth
  2. Po-Dunk
  3. Tennessee Mountain Top
  4. I Wonder
  5. American Rock’n’Roll
  6. Back to the Otherside
  7. Raining Whiskey
  8. Stand the Pain
  9. Sugar Pie Honey Bunch
  10. Grandpa’s Jam


Label: BMG

Genre: Southern Rock

Release Date EU: November 3rd, 2017

Tag(s) : #Kid Rock, #News, #CD Review, #BMG, #Rock, #Southern Rock, #Blues, #Hardrock